AIADMK factions get new name and symbols for RK Nagar bypoll

Chennai:  On a day of fast paced developments following the freezing of the most, popular Two Leaves' symbol of the faction-ridden AIADMK, and the two warring factions getting new party name and symbol, top candidates filed their papers for the April 12 R K Nagar byelection today, the last date for filing of nominations. 

With the EC freezing symbol, causing a setback to the ruling party and time fast running out in finalizing the new names and symbols to file the nomination papers, the respective AIADMK camps acted swiftly and submitted their proposals following which the rebel AIADMK led by former

Chief Minister O Panneerselvam was allotted 'Electric Pole' symbol to contest in the by-poll and their party was named as 'AIADMK Puratchi Thalaivi Amma'. 

After being allotted the new symbol, rebel leader and AIADMK stalwart E Madhusudhanan filed rpt filed his nomination papers before the Returning Officer.   A known face of R K Nagar he had earlier won the seat in 1991 and became a Minister in the Jayalalithaa cabinet. 

The AIADMK camp led by general secretary V K Sasikala, who was since jailed in a corruption case, was allotted 'hat' symbol by the EC for the bypoll and it was named as 'AIADMK Amma'.  Following this, AIADMK deputy general secretary T T V Dinakaran, sporting a white hat (party's new symbol), filed his nomination.